Regular Meeting

December 20, 2012 

City Council Chamber

City Council December 20, 2012 Regular Meeting Summary

Thursday, December 20, 2012 - New Orleans, LA - At today's regular City Council Meeting new District "B" Councilmember LaToya Cantrell and District "E" Councilmember James A. Gray II were officially seated. By resolution, The Council called for renewed scrutiny of gun laws and approach to mental health care following the Sandy Hook Elementary tragedy. The Council recognized New Orleans Emergency Medical Services (EMS) for its recent National EMS Service of the Year Award. In other business, the Council honored New Orleans Holocaust Survivors and recognized the contributions of the City's Jewish Community.

District "B" and District "E" Councilmembers Officially Seated

Councilmembers Latoya Cantrell and James Austin Gray II were welcomed to the Council dais by their Council colleagues and Mayor Mitch Landrieu, who made a special appearance in the Council Chamber. Cantrell, a community organizer and board member of the Broadmoor Improvement Association, was sworn in Wednesday in the Council Chamber. Gray, an attorney, former prosecutor, and member of the Tulane Law School faculty, was sworn in by his wife, Juvenile Court Judge Ernestine Gray, on Tuesday in a private ceremony in the City Hall District "E" Council Office. On December 27, Councilmember Gray will take a public oath of office and hold a reception in the Council Chamber. Councilmember Cantrell fills the District "B" seat vacated in March following Stacy Head's election to an At-Large Council seat. Councilmember Gray fills the District "E" seat vacated after the July resignation of Jon Johnson.

Called for Renewed Scrutiny of Gun Laws and Approach to Mental Health Care

The Council passed Resolution R-12-487, co-authored by Council President Head and Councilmembers Cantrell, Gisleson Palmer, Guidry, and Hedge-Morrell, that urged the State and Federal Governmentto renew scrutiny of gun control laws and to review their approach to mental health care following the heinous acts of violence on December 14, 2012 at the Sandy Hook Elementary School where 20 children and 6 adults tragically lost their lives. The Council resolution extends prayers of comfort and solace to the families of the victims of the Sandy Hook shooting. The nation mourns this tragic event like others in recent years, bringing into focus the issues of gun control and mental health care.

Recognized New Orleans EMS for National Service of the Year Award

At the request of District "C" Councilmember Gisleson Palmer, the Council received a presentation from Jeff Elder, Director of the New Orleans Emergency Medical Services (EMS), Carl Flores, Deputy Director, and Kenneth Bouvier, Deputy Chief, on the operations of the City's EMS services. Councilmembers congratulated New Orleans EMS for its recent recognition - the 2012 Dick Ferneau Paid Emergency Medical Services of the Year Award given by The National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians and EMS World. The award was given in conjunction with the National EMS Management Association and the National Association of EMS Educators for the singular best EMS service. New Orleans EMS was touted for outstanding patient care, embracing the latest science in pre-hospital medicine, community education, and unique capabilities in tactical medic divisions, including swift water rescue, urban search and rescue, and bicycle medics.

Honored Local Holocaust Survivors

At the request of Council Vice President Clarkson, local Holocaust survivors and prominent Jewish leaders were honored for their immeasurable impact on the City and the United States of America. Among the Holocaust survivors attending today's recognition were Anne Levy, Lila Millen, Joseph Sher, Margo Berger, Jeannine Burk, Isaac Niederman, and Ernest Holzmann. Attending the recognition were the children and grandchildren of deceased Holocaust Survivors. Representatives of the Jewish community were also in attendance and recognized for their contributions, specifically for education programs about the Holocaust and learning tolerance and an appreciation for diversity. Among those were Richard Cahn, Chair of the 2013 Holocaust Memorial Program and Representatives of the Jewish Community Center; Cathy Glaser, Regional Director for the Anti-Defamation League (ADL), Betty Lazarus, Education Facilitator for the ADL; and, Plater Robinson, Education Director, Southern Institute of Education and Research, Tulane University.

Created on: 6/21/2018 11:49:02 AM | Last updated: 6/21/2018 11:49:02 AM


View the live stream
Opens in a popup window

Back to top